Types of Gold Coins

Gold coins are of two types – Bullion coins and Numismatic coins.

As the name suggests, Numismatic or Collector coins as they commonly known are gold coins collected for the art value than just the value of gold. They are purchased by coin collectors – numismatists.

While Bullion coins are bought by investors as their prices are very transparent.  Gold bullion coin prices are based on the market price of physical investment grade gold.  Today’s gold bullion coins are typically 22k to 24k, having a 90% or higher level of gold content. Making it a better investment than Jewellery that involves a loss in value like wastage, melting and making.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s